The Very Berry Salad

berry salad 035b

I’m not sure if this could be actually called a salad. It’s debatable. Maybe. But, if you like berries this is a recipe for you!

Here’s What You Need:

  • 6 oz of organic blueberries
  • 6 oz of organic blackberries
  • 6 oz of organic raspberries
  • 6 oz of organic strawberries (I like strawberries so I used a whole container and cut the strawberries in fourths.)
  • 1/4 cup mint flakes (The recipe I was using called for fresh mint leaves chopped. Yep. Seriously. I don’t live in an area where fresh mint leaves are readily available. If they were, I would have found them at the three stores I went to looking for them. Instead, I purchased some chopped mint leaves from the spice section at Kroger.)
  • 2 tablespoons of sugar

Here’s What You Do:

  • Prepare and clean the berries as you normally do any fruit.
  • Mix all ingredients into a bowl, preferably a bowl or container with a lid.
  • Gently shake the bowl to mix.
  • Let it cool in the fridge for a few hours
  • Enjoy!

This is a great and healthy summer treat. The beauty of recipes like this is that you make it to your own liking. I added a little extra sugar and didn’t put as much mint in my berry salad.

Also, let me save you from the trouble. Go organic on this recipe. It’s a little more pricy, but the difference in taste is well worth it.

It will be hit! I promise. I made the recipe three times before I was able to photograph it! The first two versions were gobbled up by co-workers (myself included).

This is a recipe from Whole Foods Market, and not my own. You can find a link to it here.

Leave a Reply

