The Sugar Scrub

Here’s a nice recipe for a body scrub that works! It’s not my own creation so I won’t take credit for it, but I didn’t pull it off of someone’s else blog or page. It is a combination of at least two different scrubs that I’ve found. My favorite part of the recipe is if you don’t like it change it to something you do like or works better for you! It’s extremely flexible.

Sugar Scrub:

  • 1/2 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil (I used extra virgin olive oil)
  • 1 tablespoon of honey
  • Mix in a bowl until you reach your desired texture

If you want more (for gift purposes or more than one person) doubling the ingredients  will make roughly 8 ounces of the scrub. I used 1/2 cup (possibly less, I was eyeballing it and not measuring) because I only wanted enough for my hands, face, and (hopefully) my feet.

The desired texture is really up to you. The more olive oil added the thinner the product gets. I wanted a rough texture so I went light on the olive oil. By the time it was done, I added a little more honey for the soft scent and even added some more olive oil because the mixture was a bit too rough for me.

The product will settle and moisten up a little bit if you let it set. So if you don’t like  the way it feels after mixing but aren’t sure if you want to add more more honey and/or olive oil, let it sit for 15-20 minutes. See how you like it then and then if it still doesn’t meet your expectations start adding then.

If you have sensitive skin please use caution! This is scrubby scrub!!! HUH? It works! It’s rough and tough so please be careful when using this if you have sensitive skin. (Go light on the sugar and little more on the olive oil.)

Is this recipe similar to what you use with your DIY scrub? Do you  add anything to your mixture? Let me know. I’d love to hear your own creation if you are willing to share.

Sugar Scrub 002

 

2 thoughts on “The Sugar Scrub

  1. Sam

    I love this sugar scrub though you do have to be careful when using it in the shower. The olive oil can make the basin very slick. I almost fell once, and now I am all paranoid about it. lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

