The Movie List

America has lost an icon today. Roger Ebert, film critic, passed away in Chicago at 70 years old. He and his movie critic partner, Gene Siskel, could make or break a newly released movie with their simple, but profound, thumbs.

With his passing, I thought I’d release my top favorite movies. I don’t think he’d agree with this list, but that’s OK. This is my list. You don’t have to agree with it or like it either. I have seen a few movie lists in the past couple of days and I actually started a scary movie list, but I’ve not seen enough for it to have any validity. So  I nixed it. I have, however, seen a lot of movies. I don’t consider myself a “movie geek” though I’ve been called one. I simply like movies.

This is a list of movies that have made an impact on me. That means the movie has moved me in some way or another. I hope you enjoy reviewing it.  You will find a few my favorites on the AFI’s Top 100 Movies of All Time. Click here to see the full list.

Here is my favorite movies list in alphabetical order:

Back to the Future Trilogy – 1985, 1989, and 1990: This has always been and always will be my favorite. I can’t explain it. I’ve always enjoyed it. Make a Back to the Future reference in front and you will have a friend for life!

Batman Begins – 2005: Christian Bale is Batman.

Beauty and the Beast – 1991

Children of Men – 2006

Indiana Jones Movies – 1981, 1984, 1989, and 2008:  I enjoyed watching these with my father growing up. (I did hold my nose including the 2008 movie in this list, but it’s part of chain. Go with it.)

Magnolia – 1999

My Fair Lady – 1964: I first watched this on TV with my mother who told me I’d like the movie. I don’t think any other movie has kept me so entranced and spellbound since. Momma was right. I liked the movie.

Romeo + Juliet – 1996

The Breakfast Club – 1985

The Departed – 2006

The Lord of the Rings Trilogy – 2001, 2002, and 2003

The Wizard of Oz – 1939: The world stopped at my house when this movie came on TV. There truly is no place like home.

To Kill a Mockingbird – 1962

That’s my list. I’d love to hear what movies are on your list!

One thought on “The Movie List

  1. Pingback: The Dos and Don’ts of Pinterest | Hannah and Harley

Leave a Reply

