The Matchboxes

Projects 120

Candy matchboxes are a great idea for a large group. I wish I had known about this when I was younger during those class time Valentine’s parties.

Here’s a step by step guide that’s truly easy (I promise). The beauty of this idea is that it’s not limited to Valentine’s Day; it can be used for Christmas, birthday parties, and showers! It’s also an inexpensive idea that children can create on their own (with some adult supervision, of course).

For the explanation purposes let’s assume we are using this idea for a Valentine’s Day project.

You will need:

  • Matchboxes (I found a package of 10 small boxes at Wal-Mart for $.97)
  • Candy of your choice (I recommend the smaller pieces of candy like sweethearts, M&MS or skittles.)
  • Valentines Day Theme paper (I choose some patterned paper from Hobby Lobby for $4.80, but any colored paper will work. No need for the expense if it’s not necessary)
  • Scissors
  • Tape or glue (I chose tape because glue is messy and if I placed the paper on crooked I could easily fix it with tape.)

Instructions:

Really this can be done several ways. You could wrap the outside of the matchbox like a gift, but if you do that keep in mind you will have to cut openings on the sides for the inside box. You could also simply cover the top and the bottom of the matchbox with your paper. I thought this way seemed less complicated. I traced the outline of my box on the paper and cut what I needed. If you are short on time you could trace the outline on one sheet and cut multiple sheets at once. I tried this method and it works well enough, but be aware that there will probably be some trimming required on those bottom sheets.

Once the boxes are covered add your choice of candy and there you have candy matchboxes!

PS: For a personal touch write the name of the recipients on the boxes.

Leave a Reply

